InitiaLit Readers

decodable readers for Foundation and Year 1

MultiLit has developed three sets of 60 phonic readers for children who are just learning to read. These delightful decodable readers are carefully sequenced to encourage children to use good reading strategies from the start.

The decodable InitiaLit Readers were developed to support InitiaLit – a whole-class literacy instruction program for Foundation to Year 2 children. They can also be used alongside MiniLit, as well as other synthetic phonics programs.

InitiaLit–F Readers (Levels 1-9) are designed for children in the Foundation year of school, as well as students in Years 1 and 2 who require reading support. Levels 1-9 cover single letter-sound correspondence and digraphs sh, ch, th, wh, ee, oo and ay.

InitiaLit–1 Readers (Levels 10-16) are for Year 1 students, and children in Years 2 and 3 who require reading support. Levels 10-16 cover ai, ea, oa, ow, _y, igh, ue, ew, split digraph, ow, ou, au, aw, oy, oi, ear, eer, dge, and tch. Different text types, such as information texts, poems and plays, are introduced in this series.

For each year level, books are available in:

  • Full sets of 60 individual decodable Reader titles per set
  • Classroom Set comprising 6 full sets (6 copies of each of the 60 titles)
  • Individually

New series of InitiaLit Readers Levels 1-9 now available

MultiLit has launched a second series of InitiaLit Readers Levels 1-9, to provide children in the Foundation year of school with additional decodable readers for practice. To find out more about the new series, including our launch discount offer for purchase of multiple sets of Readers, click here.